PDA

View Full Version : Advice for Dealing with parents

BaritoneDude
November 30th, 2009, 12:49 PM
Though the title may not place this as belonging in the school section, it does pertain to it.

I am a sophomore in college. I am unhappy and am in danger of having to drop out but I'm not concerned with that. I am instead concerned that my parents may attempt to force me to stay, even though I have no motivation whatsoever. I've tried it all. I forced myself to work but after a while I couldn't force myself anymore. I tried scaring myself, but I grew immune to that as well.

Any suggestions/statistics/general comments on this. I'm looking to form a logical argument and already have a bit of direction.

1. I am not happy at my college. I go to a liberal arts college, and while I enjoy knowing my professors, I don't enjoy all the requirements that come with a liberal arts school.
2. Even if I drop out now, I can still go back later. I mean seriously, how many commercials are there nowadays for non-traditional colleges?
3. The passion I have for games and sci-fi books isn't the same passion required to do my homework (My parents seem to think that there is no difference and I can apply the love I have for an epic story, like in Mass Effect/Half Life 2 to schoolwork).

Any help would be much appreciated.

notawoman
November 30th, 2009, 04:17 PM
Maybe you have ADD like me? Can't hurt to look into it. Adderall helped me alot as far as paying attention. But if its more of a motivational thing, maybe you can try pursuing something else.

TotalAnarchyUK
November 30th, 2009, 05:23 PM
You came to the wrong site for advice with your parents. I suggest you shoot them in the head.

Hall_hall
November 30th, 2009, 10:19 PM
Maybe see the advice of an adult outside of your parents?

EmbrExcell
November 30th, 2009, 10:20 PM